IFSC Code in Indian Banking System

What is IFSC full form ?

IFSC Code full form is “Indian Financial System Code”. It an important key for Indian Financial System. It is an eleven digit unique number which is a combination of alphanumeric and generally used in online fund transfer for IMPS, RTGS and NEFT.


Click Here for search IFSC code

Search IFSC code

The IFSC Code of each Bank Branch is allocated by the Reserve Bank Of India (RBI). Anybody who want to transfer funds using IMPS,RTGS and IMPS , cannot be initiated without it.


Every IFSC Code is unique for any bank branch provided by the bank branch. It is also print in checkbook and the front page of the bank passbook. You also get these on the Bank Website and Reserve Bank of India (RBI) Website.

It has generally have not any change by RBI but if any bank or branch is merged all over the nation, then RBI is assigned new for the bank. Recently The State Bank Of India (SBI) has merged 5 other banks and its all India branches in one bank.

It is the reason for a major change in the list. We request you don’t use any other search option on any website and get IFSC Code only in direct bank website or RBI website only. We are providing you all major bank website link for search his IFSC code.

Click Here for search

Format for Bank IFSC Code


As you have seen in the image, first four characters are alphabet which denotes the bank name and last six characters are digits denote the bank branch code. But after 4 digits bank name and before 6 digits branch code the fifth character is always zero.

Why are Requirement of IFSC Code ?

It is generally question in mind that what is the importance of IFSC Code and what are use it ?

It’s simple answer that it helps in identifying a particular bank branch. It also helps to eliminate any discrepancy in the fund transfer process and reduces mistakes.

How does IFSC Code Work ?

We also check in below image. If many banks and bank branches work in one area then how to recognize bank where the fund will transfer by NEFT and RTGS.

This code specially designed for recognize each bank branch which participate in the two main settlement and payment systems in Indian banking system.

it’s mainly use in National Electronics Fund Transfer ( NEFT), Real Time Gross Settlement (RTGS) and Immediate Payment Service (IMPS).

If you want to know about main difference between National Electronics Fund Transfer ( NEFT), Real Time Gross Settlement (RTGS) and Immediate Payment Service (IMPS) then click on below link.

What is the difference between IFSC Code, MICR Code?

IFSC Code :- “Indian Financial System Code” is an eleven digit unique number which is combination of alphanumeric and generally used in online fund transfer for IMPS, RTGS and NEFT.

MICR Code :- Magnetic Ink Character Recognition called MICR Code which are use in authenticates the legality and credibility of paper-based documents like cheque in the Indian banking database system.

Magnetic Ink Character Recognition or MICR is Nine digit code which indicates the bank branches that are taking part in an ECS ( Electronic Clearing System).

MICR Code specially designed for filling up different financial forms such as SIP form, etc. and it’s help in a faster clearance of cheque and ECS of any EMI.

You can easily find this MICR (Magnetic Ink Character Recognition Code in the bottom of your cheque leaf, printed adjacent the cheque number on right hand side.


MICR Code is a nine digit code where first three digits represent the city code and last three digits indicate the bank branch code.

It is all about it. if you want to more about MICR code than fill below box and we will send mail you after writing the post.

About kumr

Check Also

health in work from home

Your Health and Fitness When Working From Home

Working from home part of our life now because no one would have imagined that …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge
Skip to toolbar